Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University (SKLTSHU) Was Established On 23-12-2014.

Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University, named in honour and memory of Sri Konda Laxman Bapuji, veteran freedom fighter and telangana protagonist, is the only horticultural university in the state and fourth in the Country.

Horticulture is the growth engine of Telangana State and is the chief source of income to the economy of the state. It contributes approx 5.16% GSDP of the State. In India, Telangana State stands 3rd in area and 8th in production of fruits and vegetables. In view of the horticultural importance in the state, as emphasized in the 13th schedule of Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act 2014 (Act No. 6 of 2014), the Government of Telangana through G.O. Ms. No. 31 & 32, dt: 22-12-2014, Agriculture and Cooperation (H & S) Department, by adapting with few modifications, the Dr. Y.S.R. Horticultural University Act – 2007 (Act No. 30 of 2007), established Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University (SKLTSHU) with headquarters at Rajendranagar, Hyderabad – 500 030. The University Headquarters has now been shifted to Mulugu, Siddipet district - 502279.

The University runs on the land grant pattern of the USA, with a mandate on Education, Research and Extension of horticulture domain. After bifurcation, the University (SKLTSHU) comprises two horticultural colleges and two horticultural polytechnics. Concerning the research part, the University has eleven Research stations, each focusing on conducting need based, location specific research on production, protection, post harvest technology and value addition of mandatory horticultural crops. Apart, the University is bestowed with Six All India Coordinated Research Centers working on mandatory crops viz., Fruits (Mango, Guava and Grapes), Vegetables, Tuber and Flower crops (Chrysanthemum, tuberose and gladiolus).

On Extension part, the University is doing yeoman service through a Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK) for disseminating the horticultural technical “Know-how” and “Do-how” information to the farmers, private and public entrepreneurs / stakeholders.

Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University (SKLTSHU) has been Accredited by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) upto 27-03-2026.

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved